DIY No-Sew Vest

I have always loved the old and worn out. I can spend hours walking around a flea market looking at antiques or vendors selling the old unwanted trash that someone threw out of their house. I also love recycling or upcycling old stuff, especially clothes. I can spend hours looking at DIY tutorials (Go Pinterest!) Being one the youngest of my sisters I have a lot of hand me down clothes which I alter to fit me. Sometimes this involves changing the whole look of the outfit completely.

This one time I used up the material in the flare part of a bridesmaid gown to make a completely new one-shoulder dress. A few years ago I got a tube dress made out of a cushion cover.  The satin silk, pearl white cushion cover was just perfect for an amazing classy dress. I used to dress it up with a fancy brooch. Yeah…those days when I was so petit I could fit in a cushion cover…*sigh*.

So just a couple of days ago I found myself staring at a flare, printed top that one of my sisters gave me. I never really wore it like a top. Thanks to the thin shoulder straps and a tie-able belt I did wear it like a skirt once. Now that I have gained a few (a lot) extra pounds the top looks awful on me and doesn’t fit me as a skirt either. But I loved the print a lot. After looking at it for a couple of minutes all the DIY posts on Pinterest and FB started running through my head. I figured the easiest and quickest way to save this top would be to upcycle it into a shrug/vest.

It took me about 10 minutes to transform this top into a vest. Here are the steps:

  1. Lay the top flat on the floor or a countertop. Cut the top along the length from one side. Since this top had a side zip on the left-hand side I chose to cut it open from there. It is important to cut from the side to get a good flowy look. If I had cut it through the middle of the top layer, I would get a loose back and less flowy look in the front.
  2. Cut out the tie-able belt and the shoulder straps.
  3. Now measure and cut out a circle for the armholes on the right-hand side. I used the measurements as shown on this blog as guide to cut out the circle. It basically starts four inches from the side and eight inches from the top.

That’s it! You’re done!

Since this top had a nice broad belt on the top it made for a good collar. Also, the gathered material added that extra flow. You can always sew the edges for a more finished look or maybe add a piping. If you are using a plain material to make this vest, you can add a lace along the edges to dress it up a bit.

Have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

