Spinach Banana Muffins

Just surfing through the internet for recipes, I stumbled on these amazing green colored muffins that were made using spinach and banana. It’s the use of spinach that caught my attention. My very first reaction was “whoooaa…is that for real?” I had to give it a try. Just as a side note I was surfing the internet for recipes using Bailey’s Irish Cream, which lead me to St. Patrick’s Day recipes, which landed me on these Spinach banana muffins. Yes, I wander away a lot! I mean when surfing the internet. What are you thinking?

Coming back to the gorgeous green muffins, I so agree with Laura from The Green Forks. Such muffins are a great way to sneak in some healthy foods to the kids. I have a lot of kids in my family and they all (like most kids) love cake. So I decided to give these a try. Also, I was really curious about the taste.

It’s a really great not-so-complicated recipe. You just need to mix the dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately, and then just combine to two.

You can have a look at the original recipe. I didn’t really make any changes to it. It makes 16 good sized muffins. It also works well for a 9 inch cake.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup canola oil (I used rice bran oil.)
  • ¾ cup milk
  • 6 ounces fresh baby spinach
  • ½ cup mashed banana (from about 1 to 2 bananas)
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and line two 12-cup muffin pans with paper liners.
  2. Whisk together the dry ingredients in a large bowl: flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a blender, place oil, milk, and spinach. Blend on high for about 30 seconds or until completely puréed. Add banana and vanilla; blend on low just to mix.
  4. Pour puréed mixture into dry mixture and fold together with a rubber spatula until completely combined.
  5. Fill muffin cups about ⅔ full and bake 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

The muffins are deliciously soft. All you can taste are the bananas and cinnamon. At the same time you are rest assured that they are packed with the goodness of spinach.

They look awesome too. My picky kiddos and grown-ups both loved them! So I tell you these are well tested. And to be honest, whenever I think of these, I imagine Popeye and Hulk at a tea party munching on these power-packed green bundles of awesomeness. These would be so much fun at a themed party!

Give them a try. Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

